← Fund Library

TCW Direct Lending VIII LLC

DE
Private creditNon-traded BDC
Compared against all funds.
1Y return
+11.2%
77th pctile · ahead of most peersas of 2026-03-26
Since inception
not stated in filings
Distribution rate
not stated in filings
Net assets
$502.0M
as of 2026-03-26
Net expenses
9.3%
78th pctile · pricier than median
Repurchase
not stated yet
Level 3
not stated yet
Last offer
Filled
3 offers on record · never prorated
What owning this fund costs per year
Hold period3 yrs
Net expense ratio (includes the 1.25% management fee)9.30%
Minus interest on borrowings, the cost of portfolio leverage4.85%
Minus incentive fees accrued this period, which vary with returns2.10%
Ongoing cost, determined from the filings2.35%
Owners pay a 1.25% management fee on gross assets plus fund operating costs, which together came to 2.35% of average net assets in 2025. The 9.30% headline expense ratio also carries 4.85% of borrowing costs and 2.10% of performance-based incentive fees, neither of which is a fixed annual charge. No one-off costs hit the year.
Sales loadnone
Total drag per year2.35%
This is the cost for common Units (single class).
Based on fiscal year2025 annual report (year ended December 31, 2025); the filing's own ratios are annual, not annualized by me. Cross-checked against the six .
This fund's cost was determined by reading its filings in full, because the figures in its expense table do not decompose cleanly.
Drag is the fixed cost of ownership: paid regardless of performance. The incentive terms (No incentive fee until unitholders receive back all capital contributions and then an 8.0% internal rate of return hurdle; the Adviser then takes 100% of distributions as a catch-up until it has received 15% of amounts above contributed capital, and 15% of amounts thereafter, with a final incentive ) apply only to returns earned. Before waivers, the gross expense ratio is 9.31%. How this is calculated
Against all funds
Total drag
66th pctile · pricier than most
1Y return
77th pctile · ahead of most
Gray mark is the peer median. The drag comparison uses the same 3-year hold for every fund.
Every figure below was read from this fund's filing. Hover any number to see the sentence it came from. Figures cover FY2025 annual report (year ended December 31, 2025); the filing's own ratios are annual, not annualized by me. Cross-checked against the six months ended June 30, 2026 interim, whose figures imply about 2.2% once its six-month 1.60% financing cost is annualized; no fee-schedule change, so the annual figure is retained..
Open the filing on sec.gov (0001193125-26-126676)
Size and leverage
Net assets$502.0M?
Borrowings$157.1M?
Leveragedebt to equity0.31x?
Asset coverage419.00%?
Investments held63
Started2021-05-27?
What the manager charges
Management feeof gross assets1.25%?
The same fee against your equitybecause it is charged on borrowed assets too1.64%
Performance fee15% of amounts otherwise distributable to Unitholders after return of all capital contributions and an 8.0% internal rate of return hurdle, with a 100% catch-up tier until the Adviser has received 15% of distributions above contributed capital; calculated cumulatively on a whole-fund (European) basis with an Adviser Return Obligation (clawback) after final liquidating distribution.?
Hurdle8.00%?
High water markNo?
Expense cap0.13%?
Adviser is subsidising costsYes?
Getting your money back
Repurchase offersNone - closed-end drawdown vehicle; Unitholders have no redemption rights and transfers require Adviser consent
Where distributions come from
Paid out of income92.40%
Return of your own capital3.20%
Distributions were larger than the income the fund earned, so part of what was paid out came from capital or borrowing.
What it holds
Largest position7.10%
Floating rate99.00%
Not paying interestloans on non-accrual1.30%
Priced by the managerno market price available100.00%
MostlyHotels, Restaurants & Leisure (11% of investments)
Who is involved
AdviserTCW Asset Management Company LLC
AuditorDeloitte & Touche LLP
Independent valuation agentYes
Deals with affiliatesYes
Also worth knowing
  • The Commitment Period ended February 1, 2026; the Company generally can no longer make new investments other than certain follow-ons, and the term continues until March 2030 after which it winds down.
  • On April 1, 2026 the Exchange Offer settled: 6,435,400 Units (about 50.49% of outstanding Units) were tendered and roughly half of the Company's assets, liabilities and interests were transferred to TCW Specialty Lending LLC, a perpetual-life BDC.
  • One borrower, HOP Energy, LLC, was on non-accrual at December 31, 2025, representing 1.3% of portfolio fair value and 3.2% of cost.
  • Incentive fees of $37.4 million were accrued and unpaid at December 31, 2025; the Company has never made an incentive fee payment to the Adviser.
  • Unfunded commitments to portfolio companies: 24,443,000 USD (Delayed-draw and revolver commitments must be funded from undrawn capital or the credit facility even after the investment period has ended, constraining liquidity and distributions.)
  • Credit facility resized and extended after the split-off: Maximum commitment cut from $650 million to $300 million; maturity extended to April 1, 2030; facility margin 2.25% (Leverage capacity was halved alongside the asset transfer, and the longer maturity removes near-term refinancing risk for the remaining vehicle.)
  • Realized loss recognized on the Exchange Offer transfer: -11,605,000 USD (The split-off crystallized a loss that was borne only by unitholders who moved to the perpetual fund, so reported realized results are not comparable to ongoing performance.)
  • Payment-in-kind interest as a share of investment income: 7.7 % (PIK income must be distributed for RIC purposes before cash is collected, so a rising PIK share raises the risk that distributions are funded by borrowings or capital.)
  • Largest holding is a listed equity position subject to lock-up: EagleRock Land LLC Class A Units, 8.1% of net assets, $40.6 million fair value (A single quoted equity restructured out of a warrant now dominates the portfolio's mark and cannot be freely sold until November 2027, concentrating both valuation and exit risk.)
  • Non-qualifying assets under BDC 70% test: 7.1 % of total assets (Non-qualifying assets are capped at 30% of total assets for a BDC; the level indicates remaining headroom and the compliance sensitivity of the equity positions.)
  • Recallable distributions: 4,817,000 USD (Amounts already distributed can be called back and reinvested or used to pay obligations, so headline distributions overstate permanently returned capital.)
  • Deferred tax liability inside blocker holding the HydroSource warrant: 9,965,000 USD (Equity upside held through a taxable blocker is reported net of a corporate-level tax accrual, so the gross gain overstates what reaches investors.)
Request the six-factor report on TCW Direct Lending VIII LLC

A dated report covering performance, fees, liquidity, valuation, benchmarks, and complexity, with every value sourced to the filing it came from and the fund placed against its category. Built for the evaluation file an advisor keeps. Tell us what it is for and we will follow up with timing.

Data from public SEC filings. Argus is not a broker-dealer. Nothing here is an offer or investment advice. Every value shows the filing it came from and the date of that filing. Peer percentiles describe where a value sits in the comparison set, never fund quality. "Not stated in filings" is a fact about a document, never a verdict about this fund.